Every child deserves the very best start in life. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. Children need to be happy, secure and stimulated to ensure they develop a love for learning at an early age. This is central to our ethos at Early Days.

Early Years Foundation Stage

We are blessed to have a fabulous EYFS environment both inside and out. Your child’s day is filled with creative, imaginative and focussed playful experiences – some of which are child initiated, others are adult led. These activities are carefully planned to develop their confidence, knowledge and understanding within the core areas of learning.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

In order to enable and support children to be confident with their own learning, we provide a safe environment which will encourage them to develop the Characteristics of Effective Learning They develop the ability to engage in their learning by playing, exploring and having a go. They develop motivation by achieving what they set out to do. They learn to create and think critically by offering their own ideas and deciding how they want to do things. These are the skills which will sustain learning for life.

The Early Years Curriculum covers seven areas of learning, divided into three prime and four specific areas.

The Three prime areas are:

Communication and Language
Within this area, children develop the ability to listen and pay attention; to understand what is being said; to communicate with others and develop their vocabulary and speech (e.g. listening and responding to stories, talking about their own experiences and listening and responding to others).

Within their physical learning journey, children begin to move in a variety of different ways; they will develop gross motor skills such as running, throwing and catching; they will develop fine motor skills such as holding a pencil correctly or using scissors; they will also learn about healthy living and how to manage their self-care independently, for instance using the toilet and washing their hands.

Personal, Social and Emotional
Children are supported to develop their confidence and self-awareness; they learn to manage their feelings and behaviour; they begin to make positive relationships with children and adults; they learn to share and take turns such as playing co-operatively with others, following class rules and being sensitive to the needs and feelings of others.

As children develop confidence in the prime areas of learning, they will become increasingly curious and enthusiastic towards exploring the specific areas of learning.

The specific areas of learning:

Children are taught phonics during the Foundation Stage and as they progress they will learn to use their phonic knowledge to read and write simple words. As children prepare to leave us and start school they will progress to reading and writing simple sentences.

Older children learn to work confidently with numbers (e.g. counting forwards and backwards, using objects to add and subtract two digit numbers). They use everyday language to talk about time, size, capacity and money and learn about 2D and 3D shapes.

Understanding Of The World
Children learn about the community they live in and the people who help us. They make observations of animals and plants and talk about changes and why they occur. They are also encouraged to explore and use technology for a range of purposes.

Expressive Arts and Design
Children have plenty of opportunities to be creative – to sing, dance, paint, draw and make music. They will also be encouraged to experiment with imaginative play and engage in role play.